In search of the Holy Grail, Part VIII, Old School Metal

• As many of you know, i started playing guitar late in my twenties (29) and because of "Powerslave" of Iron Maiden.

I am currently re-recording "Iron Man" for my students and will present this shortly. I am not a fan of fumbling around with hundreds of profiles. As much fun as this can be, too, it cost me a lot of time i need elsewhere. So i am happy with my relatively low number of 188 profiles.

Nevertheless, maybe it is time for a change of mind again. Because i now know which two or three profiles fit my personal style best {vanWeelden Twinkleland, Laney Lionheart and
    a CarolAnn}
    i am open to the idea of having more profiles in my KPA again. Now that i have mastered reamping (finally!) it is just by the turn of the knob that i can record and try almost limitless combinations ...

Actually i am looking for those old school sounds like that of early Black Sabbath. In fact those modern hi-gain monsters are good (VHT Pitbull is one i like a lot) but do not sound
    appropriate here. I would appreciate any hints of what to download in this case, preferably non-commercial profiles. The Marshalls i have tried this far are surprisingly not perfect.
    Any ideas? Thanxxxx :thumbup:

My occupation: showing teenagers the many hidden secrets of the A-minor chord on the guitar.

• I would suggest going for the modern metal profiles and turning down the gain until you like it. That really gets you very close to such old-school sounds. Dirk Goodings profiles are pretty great for such a project I´d say! If they don´t fit you then maybe the ones from fluff, KOSTEN or maybe some from Ola englund´s new pack.

• I like this approach ,thanks for the hint ( Laney 50 is one of my favoured , for Pablo Gilberto 8) sort of sounds )

Early Sabbath was a Dallas Rangemaster boosted Laney.