AMP EQ Curve Characteristics Information

• i’m not an expert on this stuff by any stretch of the imagination as my approach has always been Guitar into Amp with no (or at least minimal) efects in the chain so while I know a bit of theory I general don’t personal suffer the option anxiety you face. However, here are a few pointers.

regarding the guitar tone pot - it is practically out of the circuit (spigot fully open) at 10 and is applying max attention at 0. It works by rolling off high frequencies by sending them to ground using a capacitor. The value of the capacitor determines which frequencies get rolled off.

Tone controls on a regular valve amp also work by reducing the amount of a frequency being send to the next stage. They can never boost a frequency. Therefore, your spigot fully open analogy occurs with all controls as 10. There is a common misconception that setting all controls at 5 is flat. This is far from the truth. No guitar amp has a flat response at any tone setting. They all have a scoop in the mid range. The question is only how severe that scoop is. For example the closest you can get a Mesa Dual Rectifier to flat is something like Bass 0, Mid 10 Treble 2. I can’t remember the exact values but you can check them on the Duncan Amps tone stack calculator. The Kemper tone controls are totally different and work like an active tone stack wehere you can both cut and boost frequencies so 0 is flat in Kemper land -5 is full cut and +5 is full boost.