Simple tips for improving Profiles

• I thought I would start a thread about simple tips that can improve or at least change the way the profiler works. I'm not a professional so my idea is to make this thread for us home users, but really any good idea should be posted. I'll start with my own observations after spending the past few days profiling. My main setup is a small yamaha mixing board and two mics. I normally use a Samsom Q8 vocal mic and an AKG c1000 both run into the board. I use the tone controls on the mixer to help me a little. I normally close mic both of them but I only have one stand so one is hung in front of the amp and the other is on the stand. I spend a fair amount of time moving them about and on an angle until I get a sound I like. I found this week that a new cab I bought makes some cool profiles even though I usually change the cab after I am done. Its a Weber enclosure with some JBL clones designed for a very clean sound. I also use a 2-12 cab that has one vintage celestion and one modern celestion. Either can be miced. I have found that setting up the amp in the hallway of my daughters room with it facing the wall from about a foot away really helps. I guess it works like an isolation box but it also gets the amp out of the room so I can hear whats going on a bit better. Its hard for me to profile with the amp in the room. I profile loud most of the time and try and run the machine just below the input clipping. I have used direct outs on a few amps and then added cabs later. Depending on the amp, this can create some cool profiles. I have learned to spend some time with the profiles after I make them, a least a few weeks. I try and make around 10 for each amp sound and work it down to one or two. My old ears get fried pretty quick so I need some time to make sure I like them and that they sound ok with different guitars. My goal is to try and put on the exchange the best profiles I can replacing older ones as I get better ones to take th