KPA: Damned With Faint Praise

• Here's a recent (5/15/2014) review of the Kemper I just found online. It's lengthy, well-written and honest - from the reviewer's perspective. But I also feel like it misses the boat. Thoughts?

(Full disclosure: I know Andy and consider him to be a good chap, but addressing his concerns and walking him through the issues he was having wasn't enough. He returned the amp after only a few days. :S )

http://www.dinosaurrockguitar.com/new/

-djh

• I would say that the author simply didn´t spent enough time with the KPA. Though the KPA is quite simple to operate, creating good profiles requires the same skills as recording a good amp tone in a studio. The more experienced you are, the faster you get there. Even absolute beginners did already create fantastic sounding profiles on the rig exchange. It just takes some dedication.

That latency ranting is complete nonsense though. If you really think you can feel the KPA´s own latency, you should rather check your signal chain for any A/D or D/A conversions. Each of those add 1 to 2ms of latency...

• I hesitate to guess what may or may mot have been advice to give the gent regarding profiling his own amp to his satisfaction. While I agree that there are a number of folks that get results that work for themselves and others, I can't guess that micing the amp was necessarily the problem. There are other possibilities.