Step-by-Step Reamping Guide

• Thanks for this nightlight. I got to stage 3 and ran into a problem. I was hoping you could help?

I'm using SPDIF cables, a Roland Quad Capture and Logic Pro X to reamp. However, when I press play on my DAW I can't hear any sound.

The DI signal I have recorded is a stereo track. I have set the output of that track to 3-4 which should be the output that feeds into the Kemper. I've set the input on the Kemper to "SPDIF Input Reamp".

Could it be because the DI track is stereo and not mono? I'm new to the Kemper Profiler, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I've watched the reamping tutorial video like 20 times now lol

Cheers,

Mike

• Hi Mike,
    This is likely to be a routing issue, but I can't tell where you're going wrong from here. Are you able to see any signal being output within your Logic mixer to outputs 3/4 when you hit play?

It won't matter if the DI track is stereo, although I cannot see any benefit from this kind of approach, since both signals would be summed to mono as they go through the initial blocks of the Kemper.

One thing to try is to set up a channel with the SPDIF as input and hit record. Does something get recorded?

Also, have you changed the output of SPDIF to master stereo or whatever you want it to be? Otherwise you will only hear the clean DI signal while reamping.

In case none of this works, post some pictures, perhaps some of the guys more familiar with Logic can help.

• It won't matter if the DI track is stereo, although I cannot see any benefit from this kind of approach, since both signals would be summed to mono as they go through the initial blocks of the Kemper.

They won't be summed. The Kemper just takes the left input.

• Ah, apologies. I just figured that it was summing the signal to mono.

No problem.