Single/Duo Act PA with KPA

• That's an interesting product, but I can't find any really convincing demos or reviews for using it as a small PA. I'm skeptical that it can hold up to even a small coffee shop venue scenario. Anyone actually try one of these with a KPA?

I'm not Paul (duh), but I have had extensive experience with the Bose, and I would go with the Bose. Any time you set up 2-speakers, you end up having a "null" at many frequencies between the 2-speakers. The ability of the Bose to give you perfect monitoring and a very wide sound-field is unique.

There is another post on this board - somewhere, or maybe TGP - where the poster asserts that the Bose mixer corrupts the sound....and that another, inexpensive mixer should be used instead. I've not tried that, but considering the price, the A/D/A converters couldn't be too robust, so he may well be correct.

As Paul said, the older Bose L1 has a built-in mixer,

I would suggest that you could buy one through Craigslist, try it out for a while, and sell it for what you paid for it if you didn't like it.

• Yeah, I've considered buying a used older one, but they hold their value so well that they're still VERY expensive. Buying one several years old for high dollars is a bit scary ...

Go for it now. The future is promised to no one. - Wayne Dyer

• It's pretty easy to see if it still works....and, there's a reason they hold their value. ;)

Again, if it's not for you any small hit you might take on resale could just be considered "rental expense".

• Paul, if you had to choose between a mixer with stereo DXR10's and a single Bose L1 with subwoofer, which would you prefer?

I happen to be Paul ....LOL!

First of all, look in your closets - If you already own gear that you can use, don't buy anything :) And, any advantages in a stereo rig tend to get swallowed up by room acoustics.