MOTU 1248

• I got a MOTU 1248 over the holidays and love it so far. The convertors sound amazing and it's making it a pleasure to run my KPA through it. I found a nice little feature. The SPDIF on the 1248 has a sample rate converter built in so I don't need to set the 1248 to slave mode and can still connect the KPA via SPDIF to it. The only downside so far is that, for my system, I can't seem to get glitch free latency less than 10 ms. But then these are the first Windows USB drivers that MOTU has release so I'm optimistic.

Cheers,

jayson

• <p>I'm interested in this product too,do you still have that problem?<span style="background-color:rgb(249, 249, 249); color:rgb(26, 26, 26); font-family:helvetica,arial,sans-serif">&nbsp;</span></p>

• That figure should come down as the drivers become refined over time, jayson, IMHO.

I've been researching the AVB system for my 2012 Mac for almost a year now and can't wait to replace my 3 x 24I/O system with a 16A and 2 24Ai units. I'll have to sell some synths to make the system fit into the 64i / 64o USB2 limit, so that's a bit of a bummer as I don't have Thunderbolt.

Just learned yesterday that one could use a PCIe gigabit ethernet card for 128i / 128o, just like Thunderbolt. I'm reluctant to take that plunge 'though 'cause not many folks have gone this route yet; it's early days, after all.

It's fantastic that MOTU's been working so closely with its customers to refine and enhance the drivers and functionality of the AVB line. Very impressive, and I'd expect no less from the company whose basket I placed all my audio & MIDI I/O, as well as DAW, eggs into when I switched from ATARI to Mac 16 years ago. The AVB thing is more-or-less cutting-edge, so you'd expect hiccups and unanticipated issues, but as the following thread illustrates, MOTU's been bending over backwards to ensure it's a rock-solid and attractive platform:

https://www.gearslutz.com/boar…hunderbolt-interface.html