Mics used for profiles

• For the record, I am a retired MMA referee (formerly licensed professional & amateur in DC and Virginia in the USA). If anyone gets to the point they feel they really do have to duke it out, I am available to officiate. For a modest fee... :D

Thanks for that. The strange thing is that I did state that it was my opinion. I just said that I did not like the SM57 on my guitar sounds. It's a bit like saying I don't like carrots and have people saying that they are good for you and give you important minerals and well, everyone likes them. Well how so, because I certainly don't - and you know I won't like carrots because you do - also I won't particularly care that you do like them either. I won't be trying to stop other people eating carrots or telling them how to cook them - although I have heard they are nice sautéed with a little cinnamon. Which come to think of it is how I like my SM57's.

• I think it really depends on what kind of sound you are looking for. I found it very useful to research what was used on specific recordings by specific guitarists. For example, I have noticed that for guitarists like Alex Lifeson or John Petrucci, they like to use a combination of mics -- like SM57, MD421, etc. And maybe mix the two. On Petrucci's sound, see here: http://www.musicplayers.com/fe…006/0306John_Petrucci.php

Alex Lifeson has used a variety of mics though the years, but recently it seems to be SM57 and U47, again mixed to a mono track.

I also noticed that many people use the Royer R-121 -- esp to add girth and low-end. If you listen to IRs, you will easily hear that.

For my tastes, I like recordings which use SM57, MD421, and R-121 for lead and rhythm. Usually miced very close to the grill and slightly off the cone and on-axis. For clean tones, I still like the U87, U47, or AKG 414 or some mix.

• Man there is some sensitive people on this forum... Good grief...