So you say tone is in the fingers?

I don't think it's possible to tackle completely new styles every day and sound good - but for progress it is immensely beneficial.

KD

Yes.And not only for "playing your instrument" but more so for writing your own music.In the last few years I made this strange (at first) expirience that my whole playing got to "mechanical".Even my vibrato´s and bendings.Just "out of the brain" but I did not "felt it".Not the way when I was a young musician and I felt every single nore,vibrato/bending I played.Lots of endorphines back then.. 8o;) ...after "loosing that" years later I really was depressed.There is no way to "practice" to "play with feeling....again"..

The simple solution was that all the things I learned about technique,theory and most of all "feeling" must be in a certain relation,in a context to THE song..or at least to a theme/melody.And this song/melody must be so strong that the "lust for playing" awakens every time you play this song..because you love the song and not the guitar you play at this song (hope I made myself clear here..ugh..).I guess this is the common thing we guitar players have with singers btw..

For me personally this is the key.And the "new things" we can learn about "other kinds of music" strange grooves (alá 11/8,9/8 etc) and more variations in music theory/scales MUST be also help you to make better music.By this I mean songs/melodoes that really (and I mean really!) express myself and are not "in service of my ego"...

Sad enough that todays rock music is so "poor".Yes it got faster,louder,and what ever but.. :/
    Jazz and most of all classical music have become "dogma" with really new,wild ideas are mostly "forbidden".