Kemper sounds different on headphones vs. through Apogee Duet (with same headphones)

• I'm a touring musician and I recently purchased a Kemper- it flat out sounds amazing in my headphones. When I try to send the monitor out to my studio monitors (apogee duet -> ableton) it sounds boxy and less pleasant. I know what you're thinking which is it's just the monitors vs. headphones- but if I use the same headphones through the apogee it has the same quality? What gives? I just want to make sure when I hit the road for tour that my sound is going to err on the side of what I'm hearing directly vs. through my interface, otherwise I may have to reconsider using it as my main rig.

• The monitor is mono, no?

Try the main out in stereo. Also check your headphone settings in Kemper (long press output button). You could have added some headphone space there.

Ne travaillez jamais.

• Ok that's really helpful. Is there going to be a sonic difference between mono and stereo if my delays mono? Also, I did have some headphone space- if that is responsible for why it sounds so much better is it possible to recreate that for the output?

• Actually upon further examination, there appears to be a sonic difference between my monitor output and the main output but they're both EQ'ed flat. The main output made everything sound much closer to what I was hearing.. am I crazy?

• Ok that's really helpful. Is there going to be a sonic difference between mono and stereo if my delays mono? Also, I did have some headphone space- if that is responsible for why it sounds so much better is it possible to recreate that for the output?

Yes. Its intended to make it feel more "in the room" than "in the head" to prevent ear fatigue.

Check your monitor output settings. A lot can be configured here to make it differ from main out.

Ne travaillez jamais.

• Yes. Its intended to make it feel more "in the room" than "in the head" to prevent ear fatigue.