Mac user - Help please

• Hi all

Up until now, I've always recorded into a dedicated mixer/recorder (Zoom R24), but am wanting to utilise my Apple Mac. I have no experience of DAW's, and have no idea what interface(s) I need between my Kemper and the Mac. Any advise would be very welcome regarding any software and hardware needed, and how best to utilise them. Cheers in advance :)

• At the most basic level, you can use GarageBand as your DAW, which comes free with OSX (or at least it did with my 2015 MacBook Pro), though you'll need some kind of USB/Thinderbolt audio interface. They can be had for not much money, if all you need is a 2 in 2 out unit. If your Mac has a line in, you could actually get away with not having an interface and just connect the headphone out of the profiler to the line in with an appropriate cable.

• It seems like you can actually use the Zoom R24 as an interface - in that case, I think all you need is a USB cable.

What level would you say you are at? What will you be using the recordings for?

How old / which model is your mac? If its sufficiently new, garageband should be available for free. There are of course other options, with very different prices, complexities and content :)

• Hi both, and thanks for your replies. My Mac is fairly new, bought in February. It does have GarageBand installed, but, alas, no line input. Regarding the R24, I was rather hoping to sell it as it seems to be a bit of a tone-suck machine whenever the Kemper gets fed into it. Not sure why, as all eq is set to neutral. Which is why I fancy going the Mac/Daw route. The recordings are purely for pleasure, and as a way of monitoring my (lack of) progress. Having said that, I do like things to be of a fairly decent quality, hence the Kemper :)

Mac specs:

Apple iMac MK442 21.5 Inch Intel Ci5 2.8GHz 8GB 1TB Desktop

CPU and Memory:

• Intel Core i5 dual core.
    • Processor speed 2.8GHz.

Hard drive:

• 1TB SATA hard drive.

Graphics: