Connecting active monitors to the kpa

• hi guys
    I'll be as brief as I can.
    I've been using my kemper for 18 months as a hobby player in my spare room with my kemper into my desk top for rig manager, my kemper main outs into spare inputs of a stereo amp and speakers and my pc sound card out into the same input with you connectors.
    As crude as this is, It's been fine for my needs as.....

1. I can use the kemper in stereo without the desktop being switched on.
    2. I can use my desktop and run pc audio out through the same setup without changing anything cable wise.
    3. I can play media through the pc and play along with the kemper aswell.

I've had to work overtime against my will so I've used the money to upgrade a bit and bought a pair of AKG 701s, a pair of JBL LSR 305s and a scarlett 2i2.

If I run the direct outs of the kemper into the front of the 2i2, do the cables need to be trs, or mono ? Is it better to use balanced trs cables from the 2i2 outputs to the JBLS, or should I use balanced trs to xlr to the JBLS.

Obviously if I go through the 2i2 I can use the jbls for desktop media and kemper playback, but I can't ply through the kemper unless the desktop is switched on.

Is it OK to run balanced trs cables from the 2i2 to the jbls and xlr from the kemper to the jbls
    Or would this overloads something.

Ideally I'd like to run the kemper to the jbls, and use if the pc is on or off, and use the jbls for playing pc media aswell.

Or is it better to have to pairs of monitors, one for kemper, one for pc media.

Thanks guys !!

• Hey there,

Here is the way I would run it..

Kemper main outs XLR at line level to the 2i2 front inputs XLR (Both for Stereo / one for Mono / no phantom power) -- 2i2 Line outs TRS to TRS or XLR to the JBLs -- Headphones from 2i2 headphone out.

You would need the desktop on if you wanted to run through the 2i2, but you could always use the Kempers Main out TRS to the JBLs from the 1/4" Main out with the PC off.