• I have owned many different guitars over the years. From cheap $300 to $3000+. ESP, ESP Ltd and Schecter guitars were very stable and did not need to be setup often. This was more of when I was a 7 string metal guitarist.

Now I'm getting older and appreciating hard rock and 6 strings a lot more. I find myself constantly needing to adjust my Les Paul. Is it that the lower gain I am becoming more aware of how a guitar should sound? Or is it Gibson's constantly need to be setup? The G string drives me absolutely insane with tuning. Adjusting the truss rod and the next day it's completely different.

Everyone seems to know a lot more than me here and I am humble enough to admit it. How are you guys setting up your guitars and how often? Is there a trick to truss rod adjustments?

• I've had several LPs since 1976 and at present have an first generation LP Axcess hardtail (2008). I do all my own setups and touch wood don't have any trouble with my current LP.

If you think about the reason a string would go out of tune, it is because it's stretched causing it to go flat or when we do a bend it doesn't go back to it's original position causing it to stay sharp.

If you've done some good pre-stretching when changing the string you can minimise a potential cause of the first issue, of course you may bend the G string more than any other depending on your playing style and preference.

Also having too many windings on the tuning peg meaning the string continues to move (slacken) during playing. You should also ensure the strings can't move on the pegs my "trapping" the end of the string on the peg. There are loads of videos on youtube showing how this should be done.
    you may find this video helpful https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvTFtHLOQvk sorry if you already know this stuff.

The second issue is usually caused by the string binding at the nut or catching around the bridge area, minimised by a good lubricant.