New KPA for Helix user

• Just got a KPA and Remote along with one of the Mission expression pedals (think I got a deal - $1950 total).

Anyway, hooked it all up this evening and played around for a couple hours...plan on spending the weekend to get to know it and start tweaking.

I've been using a Line 6 Helix for about 6 months now, and after learning it and using Impulse Responses, I got some really great sounds and loved how easy the Helix is to use.

Obviously, I have a lot of reading/research/learning to do with the KPA. Anybody else out there come to the KPA from a Helix?

As far as cabinets go - I only see a handful in the KPA...do I have to load cabinets from somewhere else?

This is probably a stupid question, but is there a way on the KPA to start from scratch?!? Like in the Helix, I can create a new patch from a totally blank slate...I pick the amp, cab, effects, etc. just by choosing an empty preset...is there a way to select an "empty" preset in the KPA and build from there? So far I've only done it by picking an existing preset and tweaking everything and then saving it.

Anyway, looking forward to getting into the KPA world! I'm planning on keeping the Helix too - I use it for vocals because it has phantom power for condenser mics. At this point, I haven't really seen/heard anything that the Helix can't do, but I'm hoping that'll change as a I become more of a "power user" of the KPA! LOL

Thanks in advance for any tips/advice guys!

- Eric

• Welcome Eric!
    Update to the latest OS 5. and then load Rig Manager and start previewing some rigs with the gain or amps that you are interested in. Scratch is a starting point with the KPA that has to do with what type of amp and gain you are looking for as someone has profiled their amp with settings that they prefer and chose to share it with everyone. Find one that is close to what you like and tweak from there.

• Welcome!