Kemper hanging / MIDI data

• Hello,

I'm new at Kemper, so a friendly "hello" to everyone. I have a problem with my Kemper amp in the performance mode. I would like to switch rigs automatically without using the remote. I use a sequencing computer running Cubase as a DAW. This sequencer is sending MIDI data on the relevant CC channels over a USB/MIDI interface (Midex) to the Kemper. Everything works fine, but from time to time the Kemper stucks. You can press every (!) button without any result. Even the On/Off chicken head button has no function at all if you turn it to e. g. tuner model or off. After a while the Kemper will shut down instantly. Is there anything I doing wrong?

Here's what I changed / did so far: I changed the MIDI channel from "omni" to "channel 2". A return to omni didn't solve the issue. In Cubase I created a new MIDI track and switched it to MIDI channel 2 (Out). Than I sent a 1 on CC50 to select the first rig in the performance mode and after a while (e.g. for a guitar solo) sent a 1 on CC54.

Is there any know issue why the Kemper hung up while receiving MIDI data? :(

Thanks in advance.
    VVolverine

• This happend to me alot when I programmed Midi CCs for automation. When I disconnected the Remote the crashes suddenly disappeared. Thats of course not the solution for your problem, but you could try at least if your Kemper is behaving the same way.

I use a Cymatic LP16 for playing the Midi file, never had an issue with that when the Midi file was sent from the LP16 (even with the remote connected). With Cubase -> Scarlett 6i6 Midi Out -> Kemper and the Remote connected i got crashes all the time

• Do you send MIDI Time Code or MIDI Clock from Cubase? That could be the problem. My in-band co-guitar player observed problems with his rig (I don't remember if it was Kemper or Axe) if MIDI Time Code (or Clock - I don't remember it too) was sent from Cubase.