Patent Pending

• It is patent pending first of all so it is not issued yet. Even if it is issued, profiling is such a wide open technology, that it would be almost impossible to win a lawsuit against any other company that releases a profiler, or any company that offers profiling as an add on tech to their current product.

A company would just have to add some kind of exclusive revolutionary profiling name and call it for example "our exclusive M1HD-CloningTech". Or any other impossible to define marketing buzz crap.

• I'm an IP attorney (trademarks generally) and what you say is not necessarily true regarding the patent. It really goes to how well the patent claims were drafted in the patent application and whether the implementation used by the "alleged infringing party" overlaps those claims. There is more than one way to build a mouse-trap.

Also, sometime "winning" the lawsuit is not the objective, but having the financial resources to sue and forcing a less financially capable company from continuing using the tech or forcing them to license the tech. License fees can be quite lucrative.

In terms of Line6 not suing anybody, I remember checking a few years ago and not finding any case, but I believe Behringer licensed the Pod technology for the V-amp.

Finally, calling the tech by a different name is a trademark issue, not patent issue.

• Even if it is issued, profiling is such a wide open technology, that it would be almost impossible to win a lawsuit against any other company that releases a profiler, or any company that offers profiling as an add on tech to their current product.

I don't consider profiling to be a "wide open technology".....I had never heard of "profiling" before the KPA, did you ? if so, where ?

• Well,