I'm a Newbie, am I doing this right?

• Can you tell me if I am connecting everything right in order to make a profile of an amp...
      I plugged my amp's input to the kempers direct output/send using an instrument cable

I plugged my SM57 XLR cable to the Return using a XLR cable

I plugged my CLR Atomic Wedge using a XLR to the Main XLR connection.

Then I turned the chicken head knob on kemper to the profile option and began to profile the amp. Step 1 told me check the volumes of both the kemper and reference amp, so using my ear I just turned the volume up on my CLR Atomic Wedge until the volume was approximately the same as the reference amps. I did not touch the Return Level volume knob at all (I am not sure what this knob does because when I do turn it one way or the other I don't hear any audible volume changes in the reference amp or the CLR.) can someone explain this to me...?

Then I go to the next page and hit start profiling And it goes through all the weird noises.

Then I refine the profile a couple times and then I am done.

Am I doing this right? I have head phones but I have not used them for anything in this process. Let me know if there is a reason I should be using them.

Also, after I made my profile, my profile seemed to have a lot of white noise coming out of my CLR speaker, but when I switch over to the reference amp there is no white noise hiss. Can anyone explain this?

Also, I use my amps standby switch to mute the reference amp in order to hear the Profile coming out of my CLR by itself. Is this appropriate to do?
      Is it recommended that I use a second mic and hook up a mixer and get a ISO box or turn a closet into a sound room to get a better profile?

• a dr. z z-28....but once I figure this thing out, I would like to profile a JCM800, VoxAC30, Victoria 45410 Bassman, and Deluxe Reverb....

I have a SM57 and some cables, and I don't have a sound room or ISO box. I just have this gear in my basement....