Spdif

• Im a bit of a newb when it comes to Spdif though I get that it transmits digital audio . What might be some typical ways I would want to take advantage of it in recording and or reamping vs just analogue ? Why the input on the kemper as welI as the output? I have a focusrite 18i8 .with ins and out as well. Thanks in advance.

• 1. Recording
    The easiest and most straight forward method of recording is to just record the "Master Stereo" signal that basically includes the entire audio chain including all Modulation, Delay, Reverb effects. As a bonus you can also record the DI signal (Git Studio) in case you want to reamp the guitar track(s). So far probably nothing new to you and probably the most commonly used way to record the Profiler. :)
    This setup uses 3 outputs of the Kemper Profiler (Main Outputs L/R + Direct Output). Now you have one output left, e.g. to record the dry, amped signal (Stack) or Mod mono (after the MOD effects slot) via the remaining Monitor Output. All 4 available outputs used now. Wouldn't it be nice if you could also record the wet delay/reverb stereo signal (Delay/Reverb wet)?
    It happens pretty often that in the recording stage you have quite a bit of delay and reverb going on to "fatten up" your guitar sound ... but in mixing, suddenly you notice it was a bit to much. It comes in very handy if you can balance the wet delay/reverb portion against the dry (Stack or Mod) guitar track. So in this regard the extra outputs provided by S/PDIF come in very handy. It's completely up to you how you configure your output routing in the Kemper. You can also record the Master Stereo via S/PDIF and the Delay/Reverb wet via Main Outputs. Everything possible, just set it up to your needs .... or just forget about it if you don't need.