PERFORMING LIVE WITH THE KEMPER

• Hello,

As I recently purchased a Kemper powered head with footswitch, I have a few questions for Live performing:

1. Am I better off plugging into a cabinet or going direct? A lot of users have posted that going direct will deliver the true, uncompromised sound/tone since it eliminates mic'ing a cab.

2. If I do connect my Kemper to a cabinet, should I be using a TS cable or just a standard instrument cable? I've always used TS Cables connecting my former Blackstar Metalhead to a Blackstar 2x12 Celestion speaker cab.

3. How does the Cabinet emulation work exactly? I'm a little new to it.

4. Where do I buy a Kemper Cabinet?

• Whoa dude... !...I dont think a kemper Cab exists does it?

Lots of folks use DXR10/12 cabs, RCF, amongst others, its really a personal choice thing, just search the forum for FRFR cabs..

Im not sure too many people here mic up cabs with a Kemper...usually direct to FOH.

No Gain - No Pain.... :D

• For the first question ("Am I better off plugging into a cabinet or going direct?"), I do both at the same time. I use a guitar cab (connected by speaker cable from my powered toaster) behind me and then go XLR out to the mixer for mic'ing purposes to FOH. I like having the feel of the guitar cab behind me, and like the flexibility to still connect direct to the mixer (no need for mic'ing the guitar cab - I get a consistently good sound to the FOH and it also makes setup/tear down that much easier)

• I've always used TS Cables connecting my former Blackstar Metalhead to a Blackstar 2x12 Celestion speaker cab.

I hope you are using SPEAKER cable when you connect a powered head to a cabinet and not an instrument cable. =O

The key to everything is patience.
    You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not by smashing it.
    -- Arnold H. Glasow

If it doesn't produce results, don't do it.

-- Me

• 1) Direct, but ideally both so you have a cab for monitor. Otherwise if you can afford it, an FRFR cab.