I’m not satisfied with my Kemper at all? It makes no sense!

• Hi Jason

As you have 5 high end tube amps, a couple of Suhr guitars and are doing a recording course at school you have all the tools you need to get EXACTLY the tone you want out of the KPA.

Set up your amp(s) the way you like it. Stick a mic in front and make a profile. It isn’t rocket science so you should be able to get great results in no time. I know you said you don’t like reading dictionary thick manuals but you should definitely download the the detailed reference manaul and the short profiling manual before starting.

You don’t need to go into the studio to make the profiles. The actual profiling phase where it sounds like a space ship landing in your room only lasts less than a minute.

Although it probably sounds counter intuitive to someone doing a recording course, but the room you profile in seems to make minimal difference to the profile itself. I’m no expert on this but I think the profiling algorithm disregards time based information which is what the room would add. Maybe someone with more knowledge and experience can confirm/explain this better.

Anyway, I whipped out my old Mesa Studio .22 yesterday and made some quick profiles (both studio and direct versions) to do some A/B comparisons. I have a pair of Mesa EVM12L Thiele Cabs so I plugged a DIrect version of the profile into one and the real Boogie into the other. I carefully level matched them with a DB meter and switched back and forth between them. There was virtually no difference at all. Any difference there was may actually just have been down to the slightly different positions of the cab relative to the room walls. In fact, if I had to pick one I would say the Kemper profile was very slightly better than the real the thing but that could just be a placebo effect / confirmation bias trick.