Mic Choice when Making Studio Profiles

• Q1: Does the mic you choose make an audible difference in the profile?

Q2: What is your favorite type and brand of mic to make a profile?

Q3: What polar pattern do you find works best for profiling?

Q4: Have you used multiple mics (and a mixer) to make a profile?

Q5: What mic placement(s) do you use?

• A1: Mic choice and placement have the exact same effect on the sound of a Profile as they would if you were making a recording of the amplifier.

I’ll let others speak to their preferences - I suggest starting with something like an SM57, and using placement you see described in free recording tutorial videos, like at http://www.recordingrevolution.com

• I’m pretty new to profiling myself. I have a few mics but so far I’ve must stuck to the trusty old SM57 and haven’t been disappointed.

If you need to ask Q1, 2, 3 & 5 then you should probably avoide Q4 ;) sticking a single mic in front of a speaker isn’t rocket science but trying to deal with phase relationships between multiple mics is a whole other ball game (sorry for the mixed metaphors;-) )

• A1: Yes. Even the placement of the same mic will have a tonal difference.

A2: 421, SM57, Audix i5, Fathead, Ribbon mics with the first 3.

A3: Don't even think about it when choosing the mics

A4: Yes. If I use a ribbon I will blend it with one form A2... Even blending those sound good. (Preferences)

A5: Preferences depending on desired output.

A6: Added bonus answer - Try some DI profiles and use other cabs so you can see what you like or don't like when compared to your own cab profile. I have started doing this more often as it provides a consistent profile for me and I can utilize other cabs that have various speaker/mic combinations that I don't have. The only problem with this is that when you find a speaker combination that you like you are compelled to buy it for your own....crazy how that works.

"More Guitar in the Monitors" :thumbup: