Kemper + Behringer XR18

• New Kemper owner here - first post.

Let me stat by saying that we had the profiler for a week but I still cannot believe the tones we can get out of it. Just an incredible machine.

Also, I am an engineer by trade and cannot help but notice how ingenious the design of the Kemper is.

Back to the topic... We have a setup in a relatively small room for family and friends jam sessions with a Behringer XR18 - which is also a great machine. We have a synthesizer, an electric drum kit, a bass DI, a guitar DI, a BeatBuddy and naturally the Kemper hooked up to it. There is also a microphone for a saxophone / clarinet. The XR18 is hooked up to a laptop (duh) plus a pair of powered PA speakers. (Getting actual guitar amps and mic-ing them is not feasible because of the lack of space in that room.)

As far as music is concerned, when I play with the kids, we play anything from Ray Charles to Megadeth. :D

Since the XR18 is not only a great mixer but also a 16 channel USB audio interface I tried to figure out how to record everything and even be able to reamp stuff with the Kemper. It took a while but I got the wiring all done and I think even the workflow is pretty smooth.

So I figured I post it here in case someone has a similar setup and wants to do the same. On the laptop I have Wave Tracks Live running for record / playback in addition to the XR18 software.

The basic idea is to use the DI output of the Kemper in addition to the (stereo) main out for recording. Also use one of the XR18 buses to send the recorded clean signal back to the Kemper for reamping.

With this setup you will lose 3 inputs on the XR18 and one of the output buses.

Here is the wiring - pls forgive my MS Paint skills :

[Blocked Image: https://i.imgur.com/lEw3Fp3.png]