Impressions of profiles live

• Hi guys,

Although I have over 30 years gigging experience I'm not gigging much at the moment so most of my time with the KPA has been spent in my home studio or in rehearsal studios. At home I use Adam A7x monitors and I go straight into the studio's PA for rehearsals. I have absolutely no doubt the Kemper is light years ahead of my traditional valve amps in these scenarios but would I feel the same for live use?

Anyway, the crux of this post is that my old band decided to call it a day after 28 years and returned to our home town stomping ground to do their final gig ever on Friday night at The Grand Hall in Kilmarnock. We still hold the record for the largest ever crown there topping even The Sweet gig in the early 70's that spawned the song Ballroom Blitz 8o

I played with the band for 23 of those years; the first half on guitar before switching to bass for the next decade and a bit. Although I left 2 years ago they were kind enough to let me come back and do 6 songs on Friday. Several of the other ex members also made appearances along with a Gospel Choir for four songs and dancers for some tunes to so it turned into a bit of an extravaganza like The Band's Last Waltz ^^. There were 47 people on stage at one point including a 7 piece horn section.

I took the Kemper with me and a 1x12 Mesa EVM12L Theile Cab for on stage monitor (I intend to go FRFR cab or even just straight IEM when the band I am currently rehearsing finally starts gigging regularly) . I just gave the FOH and Monitors a single mono XLR with the output section set to Master Mono and the -12db switch engaged.