IR's and the Kemper

• Hey guys. I'm fairly new with the Kemper and a little confused about cabinet IRs from Celestion. What's the difference between buying the Vintage 30 4X12 Closed Cabinet IR from Celestion verses copying the exact same cabinet from a TopJimi profile I have and pasting into another profile?

This might be a dumb question, but I'm not trying to buy the IR if I don't have to. Thanks!

• Not a dumb question yet it is a complicated one, in a way.

Micing a speaker in itself can create seemingly limitless variations. To mic a speaker you need a power amp. This power amp may be flat response or many times not flat response. This power amp response will effect the IR. You can subtract the power amp coloration from the IR to make it just the speaker, microphone and room. Microphone position and the room they are in being the two parts that you are left with for variations.

The Kemper shoots the profile (including the speaker etc.) of the whole setup at once for a studio profile. In this situations the cab driver on the Kemper separates the amp and cabinet based on a formula. Not a bad one either.

A direct amp profile is of the pre and power section of the amp with the impedance interaction of the power amp speaker included. You can then create a studio profile of this exact setup and merge it with the DA profile to get a separated cabinet.

Without knowing what method exactly is used by any author it is tough to say what the differences are.

The Kemper can substitute a cab from any method for the other but it may or may not be authentic.

In the end, really all that matters is what works for you.

There are some free IRs from Celestion in the Kemper factory content. I believe these are IRs converted over to Kemper cabs.