KPA vs Tube amp (Picking weight)

• Greetings all,

A question for those with loads of experience recording with tube amps (ideally metal). Since I have very little experience with tube amps, got me wondering about something regarding the pick attack after a recording session I had.

I know that most guitarists in big bands would absolutely pound on their strings while recording with tube amps to get that aggressive tone. How have your experiences been with the Kemper in this regard? Do you notice you have to put in less effort when recording to achieve the same sound i.e. the Kemper being more compressed? Or is the picking weight the same as you would have with a tube amp?

Would love to hear your experiences.

Thanks!

• Different amps have different levels of compression, so it’s pretty amp dependent. I have to dig into the strings a lot more when I play through my VHT Ultra Lead vs my Uberschall. The Kemper isn’t exactly the same as the real amps in this area. I can get the “high effort” sound from my VHT profiles without having to work for it as much. It does respond to pick attack and heavy handedness; just not as much as the real amp.

It’s nice for recording because I can control the peaks during palm muting better than with my actual amps. Nothing sucks worse than scrapping a great take because the signal started clipping.

• That's very interesting. Thanks for sharing! I would personally prefer to track with the profiler, but the person I am recording for does not want to even give it a try claiming it sounds too digital. I guess practicing on the kemper with a low gain profile will help me get used to picking harder when its time for tracking. I'd be recording with a Mesa Mark IV btw.

• I would personally prefer to track with the profiler, but the person I am recording for does not want to even give it a try claiming it sounds too digital.