How do you learn guitar?

• Hi all,

I wasn't sure where to post this as it's not really Kemper related but more just about music and learning.

I'm in my final year of a music degree and for a research project I need to compare online learning vs traditional face to face learning.

If you're like me you've probably taken a few lessons here and there, used YouTube for loads of free stuff and subscribed to sites like Jam Track Central.

I'd be extremely grateful if you could let me know your experiences of learning guitar. Just a couple of sentences would be great if you have time.

Here's my question:

Do you take or have you ever taken traditional face to face guitar lessons or used online sites for learning? Why did you choose this method and what do you find the main benefits of each type of lesson are?

Thanks for your time in reading this and especially for replying!

• When I started to learn how to play guitar there was no "online"... 8o

So I did it the traditional way, one to one and one to many but all with the people being together in one room. After that I continued with a lot of learning by playing along to each and every tune which came up on the radio. I did this for so many hours during my youth. Finally when online became a topic I found a lot of useful stuff which I enjoyed over time. Mostly I learn from watching how other people play certain stuff.

When beginners come up and ask me how to do it I definitely suggest them to go for a few hours of learning together with a good teacher. Things like how to hold your hand, the pick etc. is easily learned in a way which is hard to correct later on. The rest I guess is fine from online, skype, DVDs and whatever stuff. Experience and own style anyways comes only with practicing, gigging and so on.

• My story is similar to deadman''s .. being a lefty, 50+ years ago, no teacher would teach me.. Fortunely I found several players in the Daytona Beach,Florida area to give me help