Who thinks Kemper Stage is noisier than Rack/Toaster ?

• Hello everybody,

I find that my Stage is noisier than my rack, which is completely silent.

When I touch the browse knobs it does a ground loop sound (not too important because I don't record touching them at the same time :D)

But I also found that the Stage produces a lot more "white noise" than the regular Kemper, especially at hi gain settings.

I tried the ground lift option, different guitars, power supplies, sockets...

Thoughts everyone ?

Live I think (didn't bring my new toy at rehersals yet) it will not be a problem but for recording purposes I find it annoying.

Cheers

• But I also found that the Stage produces a lot more "white noise" than the regular Kemper, especially at hi gain settings.

I do and did not have the regular Kemper, I'm a newbie with the Stage. But what you describe may be the same impression I got with the Stage. There is some disturbing noise especially on hi gains (which I dislike anyway). I noticed that there is a kind of scratch problem, occuring some times when hitting the strings hard. With power chords, best for instance with string D and G, 2nd fret, let the tone fade out. Then you can hear wave-like swelling and decay, among them slight disturbing and dirty noises, slight clipping(?).

Until now, I cannot decide if it is just a problem with my own machine or if it is common to all Stage machines. On the other hand, I use some profiles with low gain, tweaked them heavily with my own settings, especially turning on the amp volume, and then they sound good.

• CarloLf

I noticed that too on some high output pickups when you let fade out notes. On headphones only for the moment, didn't noticed that on my DXR10, but listening is less subtle on this thing than headphones.

If you don't mind, tell me please with what guitar and what gear you hear this noise ? Seems like buzz-rattle-metallic sound when you let the note fade out, in my case.