Profiles suitable for recording - current state of play, some questions

• Hi tone chasers,

I'm fairly new to Kemper but not to recording, have been profesionally involved since the 90's. I got one for home so I can do quick, ampless overdubs but I'm finding very little hits and a lot of misses with profiles.

I've been making my way through the 1000's of them from the well known guys and others, and have found that a good proportion seem ok for playing loud and live, but don't at all translate well for recording. Anyone else finding this?

They range from a bit meh to lifeless and dull, and require heavy, heavy eq'ing to work in a typical rock mix. From recording cabs I know that some eq and other processing might be necessary, but I've never had to wind in some much high end (and often low end) and reshape the mids like I do with the many of these profiles - including very popular ones spoken about on this forum and others.

Some of the STL stuff (Benson and Bendeth for example) sound about right - they're present, crunchy and can slot into a mix with moderate and typical processing. They are way too bright for live playing, and that's to be expected.

I've made my own profiles of my Plexi and I'm very happy, it sounds as it should. I don't own a roomful of Bogners and Diezels and don't really want to hassle all my friends for loners of the precious toys... so who else caters for the studio crowd?

Cheers.

• Well many will disagree with your opinion and not alla profiles work well with some guitars/pickups. Some needs to be tweaked a little and others not. Some profiles sounds great on all of my guitars and with other profiles don't work at all with one guitar/pickups.

Think for yourself, or others will think for you wihout thinking of you

Henry David Thoreau

• All depends on you purposes, I find for my self, ive ran through nearly 30k different profiles so far from a lot of makers.