Hi All! How I got here (warning: long story)

• Hello,

New Kemper stage user here.

Well, I'm an hobby guitarist (almost 40 yo) that got back to playing guitar two years ago, after 15 years without touching a guitar :)

I like to hear and play mostly heavy and prog stuff. Dream Theater of course (it's a problem to be a beginner-intermediate player when petrucci is your god), lately Soen (lotus album is great) and of course classic rock and 90's rock and guitar heroes from this period.

In the last two years I've bought and sold a lot of gear (amps, pedals, guitars and what not) chasing tones for mainly Petrucci, but also Gary moore, SRV and others.

This journey was long and even now with my Mark V 25, Mesa oversized 2x12, Music Man Majesty and many expensive pedals I haven't reached exactly what I was looking for. Maybe because I play at low volumes at home..

The sound I got to is Ok, but it took me a long time and being a hobby guitarist with not much time in my hands (maybe a couple of hours weekly) I spent too much time researching and dialing tones that I could invest in improving my playing. But what can I do. Tone is very important to me . I don't have enough time to play with dialing in tones and settings, so what's the solution?

A week ago I saw Kemper stage videos on YouTube and it hit me - that's what I need.

I hardly play at the moment plugged in (kids are at home, covid-19 blabla) so being able to connect the Kemper stage to my computer and also record some music also lead me to it.

Researching and watching more profile demos convinced me even more.

I read some stuff about the profiler sounds like mixed guitars and not amp in the room, but I'm not a guitarist that spent years in rehearsing and performances, so maybe what I always looked for WAS that mixed sound?

I got my Kemper stage on Sunday, played with it for a couple of days (I'm Techy.. so no problem), bought a paid JP2C rigs pack and i was AMAZED.