Open toughts about using the Kemper in an apartment

• OK. But perhaps listening to a hifi system or watching TV at a certain volume may be too subjective. I think playing the Kemper loud enough to sound great probably means louder than both cases mentioned above to most of us. But the Kemper still sounds good at lower volume. Similar to Hifi and the loudness compensation. Monitors are similar to Hifi loudspeakers but flatter and less "compensating". You've got headhones already, so start with them and see how it works for you.

Never too old for rock'n'roll

• As CJ and others have pointed out, there's a whole lotta subjective in this conversation. That said, I think it's important to make the distinction between listening to audio and moving air, particularly if you're a rock guy.

My background is classic rock, and I come from the days when you could actually use a 100 watt amp in a bar (I once played a gig with a 50 watt Marshall set to stun and when I walked to the other side of the drums couldn't hear myself over the other guitarist, bass & drums).

I've listened to lots of records at a low volume, and I enjoy the music. All the notes and melodies are still there, and the song is still the song. Nonetheless, there's simply no substitute for moving air. When I play in a band setting, or even just for fun in an amp / speaker setting, it's always at 100 - 105db minimum. When I mute the low strings and chug, I want to feel that thump in my gut. Simply put, rock is a physical experience. Sure, you can listen to it at TV levels and enjoy it, but it's like driving through the countryside in a Volkswagon versus a Corvette. The scenery's pretty either way, but it's a very different experience (at least the way I drive).