Thinking seriously about a Kemper, but what do I need? PowerEngine 60 compatibility and a half dozen other Noob questions.

• Hi Guys.

Before I get into the questions, I will list some background so you can get an idea where I'm coming from.

I've been a gigging amateur sometimes professional musician for nearly 30 years. I've played for audiences from 5 to 50,000 (When opening for headliners).

For the first 15 years I was a starving musician and had terrible but dependable cheap gear. I have literally played arenas with just a Peavey Bandit and a Boss chorus.

I was never a tube snob or a "vintage is always better" guy.

As I have gotten older and music became a hobby, I played 4-5 local shows a month. I've also been afforded better gear, but I also am a realist and have not seen the value in lugging in a ton of gear into a bar only to have to carry it out at the end of the night after I'm exhausted and half drunk. I've had a Bogner and a Boogie dual rec and wow those things are awesome but a bear to move and maintain. I also love a tele through a tweed, but limiting musically and still heavy and somewhat less bulky. I want it all.

What I am about to say may cause controversy, but I'm a grown man and can handle the flames. But I sold a dual rec and a pedalboard full of various effects and 4x12 to scale down to a Johnson Millenium JM150 Digital amplifier 2x12 (If anyone remembers those) and was in love. It was easy to program and sounded great. With my eyes closed, my rec models sounded very much like my real Boogie, but it breathed differently. I even bought a used spare as a backup. The first died a terrible death in a vehicle accident and the other died in the middle of a gig but luckily the preamp out still worked long enough to finish. I had difficulty getting the Johnson repaired seeing as how they went out business 15 years ago.