Ground Control Pro versus the Kemper Remote

• I have been using the Ground Control Pro with GCX for about 15 years. It did everything I need in my old rack of gear.

It appears that trying to make the GCP do everything the Kemper remote can do is difficult. One of these things is morphing.

Should I switch to the Kemper Remote or try to make the GCP work?

By the way, I've been through both of the Voodoo labs and the Kemper forums.

I am thinking of keeping the GCP to control the rest of my midi setup and use the Kemper Remote exclusively for my KPA.

Make sense?

• Remote is optimized KPA in mind, so yes, one can't reach all it's features with same level of usability with other devices.

But toggling morphing alone should be rather easy for GCP as it only requires one midi CC ON/OFF command.

• Pros and cons, but the cons are negligible imho.

I use the gcp, I personally wouldn't swap it out. It can do almost anything if you're happy to program it accordingly.

A couple of shortcomings, if you have it set up with the top 8 switches as stomps, you'll only be able to select 4 rigs per performance instead of 5, and using the looper could be difficult or impossible, someone posted midi instructions for controlling the looper but I've never tried.

One other negative I've noticed is that there's a slight lag if plugging expression pedals in to the gcp, running them straight in to the Kemper works fine though, there's no noticeable lag otherwise that I've ever noticed.

You can easily asign morph to any one of the stomps, that's not an issue. I believe you may need to reprogram that switch to momentary iirc.

On the plus side, I believe it's better than the Kemper for controlling other midi gear, I don't believe the Kemper is capable of controlling the voodoo gcx 8 channel switcher which was the deal breaker for me, I've read (someone please correct me if I'm wrong) that there is a delay sending midi signals from the Kemper, I don't own the remote so can't confirm.