Kemper SPDIF vs XLR

• Hi,

I've been using the Kemper for a couple years now. I love it live but my recorded tone has always sounded dull and muddy to me compared to the live tones I get. Like a blanket over my tone. I have been using spdif for some years now.

I recently bought a Captor x to compare my KPA tones to my 6505+ tone. What I discovered was that the fidelity from Captor X was much better when compared to profiles similar to the 6505+ using XLR. So I decided to plug the KPA in using the same XLR cable and WOW what a difference.

Like the blanket was removed!!

My rig: KPA spdif into Focusrite 18i20 G2.

KRK Rokit 5 G2 monitors.

Mesa OS 412 for live.

KPA kone for live.

The spdif cable I use is an Amazon basics digital spdif.

XLR is Monster Pro 900series.

Could the quality of my spdif make that big of a difference? It's digital, why would that matter?

Thanks for your suggestions.

• I find the two similar enough that it makes no difference. I often use XLR. SPDIF is real convenient though.

it sounds as though something is wrong with the input settings on your interface. Are you using combo XLR/TS inputs? Not sure about the 18i20 but these often automatically engage the Mic preamp when you us an XLR. In this case you are often better using a simple TS cable instead of XLR.

• I find the two similar enough that it makes no difference. I often use XLR. SPDIF is real convenient though.

it sounds as though something is wrong with the input settings on your interface. Are you using combo XLR/TS inputs? Not sure about the 18i20 but these often automatically engage the Mic preamp when you us an XLR. In this case you are often better using a simple TS cable instead of XLR.

I will try the TS as you have stated and see if this has an impact. I love the sound I get using the XLR. But the sound with the Spdif is pale in comparison. I would have assumed it would be more polished than XLR or TS. I will experiment and see what results I get.