Help needed with recording set up

• Hey KPA Forum

So please bare with me on this one. I am completely new to the digital world, the KPA, interfaces and recording. Having previously been tube amps and recording through mic's etc for the last 16 years.

My recording rig set up at present is

Kemper Powerhead

Focusrite Scarlett 4i4

Fender American P Bass

So i have the Bass going into the input of the KPA

KPA main outputs L+R 1/4" into the two front inputs of the Focusrite Scarlett

Focusrite Scarlett connected to Windows Laptop

When i open up Ableton Live Lite, the latency is over 290ms. The Kemper and the FCS are set to '48' and i am connecting with 1/4" TS Jacks, not SDPIF. I have the focusrite Control panel and this is showing the signal coming in when playing.

When i tested the set up out, i was using the laptop internal speakers (I plan on getting monitor speakers shortly) the lag between the note i was playing to the sound coming through the computer was horrendous.

So my question to you is, how do i set it all up to work properly. I am aware that the output sections of the KPA should be in a certain way, Git+Processing etc. How can i get this to work effectively ?

Is it Ableton, the KPA, or something else ?

I am a complete beginner to this, so i hope you understand.

Thank you

• A couple of important questions. Are you using ASIO in Ableton? What's the buffer size set to in the Focusrite device settings?

I have no idea to either with Ableton. I think it did say ASIO in ableton. I cannot find the buffer size in the focusrite settings, all i can find is 48khz

I have also got pro tools first and i have disconnected the Kemper and just going straight into the Focusrite and then into the laptop. It says the buffer rate is 512 for this.

• A couple of important questions. Are you using ASIO in Ableton? What's the buffer size set to in the Focusrite device settings?

So i have opened up ableton, without the kemper and it says the following,