Recording using XLR doesn't sound good

• I just bought a Kemper Profiler and I am now trying trying to record some stuff with the following configuration:

Audio interface: Presonus Audiobox itwo

XLR cable from "Main Out R" on the Kemper --> "Input 1" on the interface.

Main output set to "Master mono", Monitor output off, direct output off, SPDIF output off.

I have my interface connected to my PC using a USB cable, and use headphones connected to the audiobox for listening. However, when i have my headphones connected to the audiobox, it sounds a lot more muddy and digital, whereas if i connect the headphones straight into the kemper, the sound is much more crisp, clear, and pleasent. Am i doing things correctly?

Needless to say im new to this, and appreciate any help!

• I recently started a thread on this exact same issue. It’s on the main page. You might want to check that thread to see if it helps you in your situation. I’m still trying to find the answer myself.

• I just bought a Kemper Profiler and I am now trying trying to record some stuff with the following configuration:

Audio interface: Presonus Audiobox itwo

XLR cable from "Main Out R" on the Kemper --> "Input 1" on the interface.

Main output set to "Master mono", Monitor output off, direct output off, SPDIF output off.

Why are you going Main Out Right? You should be using the left if you have set to Master Mono.

• you might be clipping the inputs of your audio interface. Try a standard TS cable to connect the Profiler to the input of your audio interface and make sure to set the interface input to line level sensitivity. Set the volume for the output you are using to something between -10 and -15 dB.

I just checked the manual of your interface and the XLR inputs are for microphones. You need to use the TS inputs for a line level device like the Profiler and make sure to set the TS inputs to line level and not instrument level.