Details regarding the hardware network interface- MIDI specs, pinouts, voltages

• Hello!

I'm an electrical engineer and product developer in the U.S. that loves biting off more than he can chew. I'm very experienced in developing microcontroller based systems and would love to attempt to design and build a custom MIDI controller for the Kemper. Mostly for fun, really. I expect it would end up being the sort of thing that would cost twice what a Remote goes for and work half as well. But sometimes it's about the fun of building something!

Anyway, I've never actually integrated with a MIDI interface on a chip / connector level. Is there information on the Kemper's network RJ45 pinout? Is it straight MIDI with a remote uC or is it MIDI over Ethernet or something? What voltage is the midi interface? Baud rate?

Do you know of any independent projects that have developed MIDI controllers from scratch? I'd love to see some reference designs.

Thanks everyone

• To my knowledge, no on has built a MIDI controller that uses the RJ45 connector. I doubt the Remote/Profiler communication is MIDI. MIDI only uses three pins. So 6 would be needed to send/receive and provide power. There appears to be a lot more going on than just MIDI data.

“Without music, life would be a mistake.” - Friedrich Nietzsche

• You can hook up a meter to the network jack and find your answer.

I could, but if anyone in the world knows anything about the Kemper's midi implementation it would save me a ton of reverse engineering.

To my knowledge, no on has built a MIDI controller that uses the RJ45 connector. I doubt the Remote/Profiler communication is MIDI. MIDI only uses three pins. So 6 would be needed to send/receive and provide power. There appears to be a lot more going on than just MIDI data.