Posts by FearAbsolute

I’ve been using the same $99 set of Shure SE215s for 5+ years. As FearAbsolute says, they are very, very durable and work well.

I wouldn’t mind upgrading, but until these fail I see no real point in doing so.

I have yet to see a set of similar-level IEMs get near their durability.

I'm with you, man. Durability is a huge thing for me...gear needs to work whenever it's needed or it's just a diversion from playing the guitar.

I've been using Shure SE215 in-ears for about 2.5 years now, both with drumming & guitar. Durable, great sound, long cable, comfortable & pretty inexpensive. The Kemper, to me, sounds best through in-ears.

In fact, I dont think you can even dial in a decent metal sound on headphones. The high frequency peaks will cause bleeding of the ears or a seizure first.

Respectfully disagree. I'm a Metal guy, been playing Metal for over 30 years. The high gain, ultra-saturated, realistic-sounding tones I get through my Shure in-ears would undoubtedly change your mind. In fact, most of the time, I prefer the tones in my headphones, compared to studio monitors. There has been no bleeding or seizures, just blissful Metal riffing at all hours of the day and night. :) The PRS MT-15 and Archon through a 5150 cab are god-like.

Good luck with your new rig, man. If it makes you happy, that is ALL that matters.

I've had the direct opposite experience. Bought my Kemper in early July 2021, and within a few minutes, I had the best tones ever in over 30+ years. After a couple of months, the Kemper's complexity was forgotten & I cannot stop playing the thing. It literally changed my life, not just guitar playing. The tones, flexibility, portability & ease of use has made it invaluable...I could not imagine playing anything else.

Like I said man, good luck out there!

Damn. Now I have to buy me some stereo inears.