Posts by XpennoKPA

Yes. As other people here, I own an AxeFX Ultra. It's biggest flaw has always been the IR size/cab block. I've been working with IR's since 2002 (mostly rooms back then), and every time I A/B the "high resolution" 1024 point IR (23ms) in the AxeFX with my original (ten times larger) it's so inferior. It's mostly nuances of course but still, getting the nuances right is the last piece of the puzzle, right?

How's that for a first post? :)

Great to see you over here Jocke!

Has one of you had the chance to make a real judgement about different IR sizes?
    The real comparison of IR sizes can only be done by listening to two IR's that are supposed to create the same frequency responce, but have different sizes.

Experience anyone?

As Armin said, in the AxeFX Ultra you could switch between a 512 point and 1024 point version of a user IR in the cab block. To me there was a feel difference in the way that the IR handled the very high and low-end of the tone. The higher point IRs seemed to feel tighter in the low-end and had an extended top-end.

I have also tested by running my AxeFX without a cab sim into a DAW running IRs from Redwirez at full length vs a lower resolution version of the same IR. When you switch from one to the other there is a noticeable difference between the two. The higher resolution version sounded like it had more space around it, it's hard to describe but noticeable when comparing side-by-side.

I am not an expert in the field of IRs, not even a novice, but the higher resolution IRs felt/sounded better to me.

Thanks

Spencer

Agreed with the others that it could be a headphone related issue. I still think that you should be able to get a good tone even on lower quality headphones. My tips would be

Try Tyler's Cabs out, there are a large selection of different mic positions here, thus they will affect your tone to a great degree. Find one that's close to your taste and tweak form there.