Posts by VictorRattlehead

Hi Everyone, I am new to recording and so far I have not figured out how to record huge metal mixes like I hear from so many players on Youtube.

I have the equipment but I lack the knowledge.

I record with Studio One 2 Daw
    My KPA into my Focusrite 816 audio interface
    For drums I use Toontrack VST's
    Carvin guitar and Bass

Here is my process. I pick a profile I like and record two tracks hard panned left and right. Then I record a bass track centered. It sounds okay but can get muddied together. I dont know much about EQ'ing so I am wondering if I need to be doing some EQ'ing to the tracks. If so what do I do and which frequencies should I mess with? I fiddled a bit with aplugin in Studio One called Pro EQ but I didnt know what knobs I should be turning and all I did was screw my tones up even further.

I really want that in your face full guitar sound with crisp clear tones and maximum heaviness. I really want to learn how to do proper recording.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi Pete, hey big fan of your profiles. I'm about to buy your Ozzy profiles. Already picked up your Metallica and Megadeth and they are alot of fun to play.

I was wondering what you are working on next, if you can say.

Do you plan on anymore metal profiles? How about some classic metal? Maybe some Iron Maiden and Judas Priest? Or even another volume of Megadeth and Metallica?

Thanks!

Hi Lasvideo.

I have a Mac mini that I connect into a Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 interface via S/PIDF and everything works perfectly, no problems whatsoever in my setup. Now I am not using logic Pro, I use to use that on my Mac Pro but I switched over to Presonus Studio One 2 which is I really love. Just my 2 cents.

Hiya Jaymz,