Posts by Stratosurfer

Hi Kemperians!

This is gonna be kinda long, sorry :)

I have a Marshall JVM 410C but since I'm a bedroom rockstar, I often go digital and use mainly the amp sim plugins and/or my powered toaster. The thing is I'm really not 100% satisfied with the digital amps including my toaster. Yesterday (again) I stumbled upon the DI track which viabcroce had put here on the forum. It's like a night and day difference compared to my DI. I've been in this for more than 20 years so I know the "tone is in the fingers" or "the guitar, the pickups, the wood, picks etc. effect the tone" stuff. I'm not a pro but this is smth different that I'm asking here. Yesterday I was checking out the newly released Amplitube 5. After trying out a couple of amps, (altough I watched all of the promo vids and decided to buy the full package before the launch), I went "no this sounds like sh*t. I won't spend my hard earned money on this nice looking & sh*tty sounding sim." Then I tried viabcroce's DI on it and it sounded like heaven. Then I found another DI which was an 8 string. That sounded horrible too. No definition, no nothing. viabcroce's has a lot more bite, definition and more gain. I tried to reach out to him but learned that he left the forum. The guitar I played for this is my custom shop Les Paul 57 Goldtop Reissue. The stock pickups were too low output and way too warm for my taste. I had the following pickups on one of my other guitars: https://www.thomann.de/intl/gibson_490r_nh.htm. Actually Thomann does not list the bridge version at the moment but the LP's got both this and the bridge one.