Posts by TieDyedDevil

Make the startup much more faster . It s take 1 minute more or less and it's too much if something go wrong during a live

For faster start up ....just have less rigs ...

Slow startup has been the "elephant in the room" for a long time. There's no justifiable reason why a small computer in the twenty-first century should take over a minute to start up.

And just because there *is* a dependence on rig count doesn't mean that there *must be*. Think about it: if the KPA is reading *every* rig on startup, then that could be done *one time* and the pertinent data stored in an index so the work doesn't have to be repeated on the next boot. Hey, there's even a real-time clock: the Kemper could easily detect when the rig directory has changed and update the index accordingly.

Looking at this from the perspective of other "high-end" guitar processors: My Eleven Rack boots in 15 seconds. My Axe-FX boots in 7 seconds. (While I'm new to the latter, I understand that there were howls of protest from the user base when the AFX boot time increased *to* 7 seconds...)

On the other hand, I suppose I could buy a second KPA *and* a UPS, reserving the second KPA as a "hot spare" just in case I didn't want to wait for over a minute in the (thankfully, exceedingly rare) event that a glitch takes down the active unit. Hyperbole? Sure. For me it is. But I'm certain that touring techs lose sleep over scenarios like this... OTOH, never mind: if a touring band can afford a tech, they can certainly afford to pay for redundant hardware...

Seriously: fix the ridiculously long boot time. It's aggravating. Even a tube amp can be ready to play in eleven seconds.

I have to say that I am living in Thailand. Maybe it is important to mention. Any idea what causes the problems? Maybe it is just accidental that two devices broke down?

I dunno... I'm not familiar with electrical standards in Thailand.