Posts by Dawz

A question a bit OT: I've read a few times that it's good to track at a level of -12 or -18 dB to have enough headroom. This is a good advice. But how do you achieve a level of 0dB when mastering? A Gain PlugIn? I'm a newbie in recording... Thanks in advance for your answers!

To have enough headroom for what? Mastering? If you want to have enough headroom for mastering, you don't need to record each track at -12 or -18 dB.
    You should record each track as loud as possible, but without clipping, and reduce the level of each channel after recording.

I personally aim for a master level of around -6 to -3 dB after mixing, so i still have enough headroom for mastering.

And to achieve a level of 0 dB, you can use a brickwall-limiter. :thumbup:

I'm glad you like it! :)

For Bass i used the "Microtubes B7K" profiles by r.u.sirius, for Rhythm-Guitars "German Grease" (Diezel Hagen) and "Juicy Junks" (Soldano Hot Rod) by Lasse Lammert.

And for some parts we've put a Fuzz Factory in front of the Kemper.

Hey Guys,

i want to present to you the "Greatest Hits EP" of my project "This Coffee Make Me Strong".

https://soundcloud.com/devo2k11/sets/greatest_hits_ep

We did use the Kemper for every bass and guitar tracks, everything was recorded at my little home "kinda" studio :thumbup:

You may find most of our tracks to be very strange and odd. ;)
    In this case, or if you don't like strange music, you should a least tune into "911", which is the most "normal" of our songs.

https://soundcloud.com/devo2k11/004-911a

Enjoy!

@rgloenberg I think you got that wrong.
    If you use the Powerhead into a Cabinet, just leave the DI-Profiles as they are.

The poweramp of the Kemper doesn't shape or influence the sound in a way a valve poweramp would (Can't tell if it influences the sound at all).
    DI-Profiles have captured Pre- and poweramp of a certain amp, and the Kemper Powerhead will drive a cabinet and sound exactly like or pretty close to the original amp.