Posts by OneEng1

While I find that many FOH engineers will set the eq on my guitar channels, all of them are pretty happy to work with the Kemper. The tone out front is always very nice.

I have been working with IEM's for over 20 years now, and wouldn't really ever want to go back. I believe that it is best to let the FOH engineer set the over-all tone and level. My performances then set the relative level and tone between rigs.

This has been a good recipe for me anyway. I guess I am with the OP. Let the FOH engineer do their job and you will be rewarded with a good band mix.

Performance mode is the nectar of the the Gods my man ;)

While performance mode is generally most useful for live performances (thus the name), I would use it if all I did was noodle at home.

Performance mode is a method of putting your rigs into an organized set of banks. When in performance mode, the bank name is the name of the performance on the screen (you name them yourself). Each rig placed into a performance becomes a new rig. Any changes you make to that slot in the performance will only effect that performance slot (not anywhere else you use that rig).

An example of my usage is as follows:

For a given song (or type of song), I put clean rigs on the left and heavy rigs on the right. Every performance I have is setup this way so I can be assured that the far left rig will be a clean one and the far right rig will be a heavy one.

I also use performances to put the same rig into many slots, and then tweak the rig in each slot and A/B them to each other to see which one sounds best for a given usage. After I have the "golden" slot, I copy it and paste it into a real performance.

Performances are also useful for doing multiple sounds within a single song. For a song like "Kryptonite", you might have a nice clean on one slot, a crunch on the second slot, then a lead tone on the 3rd slot. You could name the performance "Kryptonite" and know exactly what you had in that set of rigs.