Posts by V8guitar

It's just not correct if some people say that the Kabinet would be loud enough for a Rock band with a loud drummer and another Guitar player with 4x12...

Totally disagree.

I have been using my kabinet for about 6 months now. I play in 2 rock bands with a very loud drummer. Last rehearsal I had to turn mine down as I was too loud. The other lguitarist uses a 4 x12 at rehearsal ( with a powered toaster).

The volume I get from the Kabinet is ear splitting.

If you are getting a smell from it, sounds like a fault. Id be interested in what power you are putting through it ( what does your power meter say)?

I had one sound guy refuse to take a direct feed and insisted on using a mic. When I turned up without a speaker for on stage and just asked to go direct with a little guitar in the monitors he tried to make me use a Line6 Spider combo so that he cold mic it because it “always sounds better” ?‍♂️ I eventually went out to the car and brought in a Mesa EVM12L cab which he miced with an E609. Thankfully I had a powered head and had already prepared for this worst case scenario but the usual happened during band changeover and his mic got misplaced. I had to reposition the mic myself or the audience would have heard no guitar. Wouldn’t have been a problem if he had just accepted a direct XLR feed but you can’t argue with so e folks.

Like you I've only ever had this once before, about 5 years ago. Luckily the band we were playing with had a 4x12 I could borrow with my powered rack.

I have the powered rack and love the convenience/flex of this. In you situation I think I'd go powered kabinets for simplicity.

Your decision is really around flex vs convenience as there will be little difference sound wise.