Posts by starsend

Hi Denis, first let me point out I'm a Palmer endorser artist. Just for full disclosure...
    this being said, they make great cabinets. They made me some V30 cabinets that sound incredibly well. They also work closely with Eminence so there's plenty of choice there as far as speaker combinations go.
    I would definitely check them out before making your final decision.

Im not saying the idea of locking it is bad. But for my purposes, i would prefer a global multiplier. Really its a parameter of the profiling process, tied to each rig, not an extra tweak as we commonly use it. Locking it is basically the same as locking an eq in one of the stomps

Got you.
    For me, while the EQ is something that affects the sound of a specific rig, Definition is so pervasive that it could grant the ability to be locked.

Like youd set a global parameter to a value of 0-200% and that gets multiplied by whatever the Definition param of the rig is. So lets say you set the multiplier to 50%. Then a rig with definition of 10 would effectively operate at a Definition of 5, while a rig with definition at 5 would sound like its definition is at 2.5

Got it! Thanks. Sounds good but still, a lot of profiles are ok at 3 or 4. I'd hate to have those at 2... My (limited) experience is that a certain guitar seems to perform better at a quite specific setting. Then of course for final sounds you'll proably want to go in and tweak but an overall setting woud make auditioning dozens or hundreds of profiles much easier.

Thanks Paul. The biggest "offenders" were actually topjimi's profiles. I have all his SuperLeads and other vintage amps and I don't know why those have the parameter set so high. If he reads this maybe he can contribute. By the way his profiles are great and I have gone back for more so I am just asking out of curiosity and am not complaining at all. :)