Posts by dougc84

like you I'm a worship artist so that means covering lots of ground tonally. 60 songs and 80 patches though, wow. I like the concept of having one or two amps supported by many different switchable effects that way I can adapt to different songs. For example I have a clean pushed distorted and lead but also 3 different ambient rigs. Standard swells to a washed out reverb for term picking. Anyway I may end up deciding to sell the remote and go Rjm at some point but I'm really trying to contain all within the profiler without much external gear.

I primarily use about 5 different presets - a Vox AC-30 with practically zero gain, an AC-30 that breaks up slightly with breakup (standard clean), standard clean + boost, standard clean + vibrato, standard clean + flanger. In addition, I sometimes use a DC30 profile for some sounds, an acoustic preset (for either the piezos on my guitar or when playing acoustic gigs), and about a dozen "artist" presets that sound like Satriani, Vai, Eric Johnson, and a few others. The "artist" presets only have a single patch on the RJM, but the others (5 + Matchless + Acoustic), combined with up to 6 combinations of overdrive pedals + the dozen or so presets I use on the BigSky + the dozen or so presets I use on the Timeline... it adds up quickly. Light gain with no delay on one song, but light gain with a 1/4 note delay on the next, and ultra clean w/ a chorale reverb on the next... it adds up.

I don't go for matching the songs we play exactly, or, jeez, I'd be using even more, and probably a second Kemper in the mix, since many worship guitarists have two amps. But I try to capture the feel - listening for the amount of ambience in the reverb, the type of delay being used, the amount of gain that's being pushed - and then how I personally feel on a song.