Posts by Klappy

I've been using Ernie Ball strings for 30+ yrs and I have never had that happen. VERY STRANGE

Yeah, I've used them before in the past, but never on a marathon session with the strings fresh out of the pack. I seem to remember having the grey fingertips a little bit, but not like this. I thought it was just a general nickel thing, but I had Black Diamond nickels on the same guitar just before these and there was no discoloration.

My acids, their alloys I guess. I did like the tone though, similar to the Black Diamonds.

Mike, sorry to hear my suggestion isn't working out. Mine is the 10" version in a closed but ported cabinet and I don't get the flabby sound. It actually sounds decent even on bass. The culprit is probably the open back cabinet. I thought it might not be a problem at guitar frequencies, but apparently it is. This speaker is designed to go much deeper than a typical guitar speaker (57Hz rolloff vs 80-120Hz on a guitar speaker, and 47Hz resonance vs 75Hz resonance).

There are two things I can suggest:
    1. Try running a High Pass filter at 100hz on the Kemper in the effects section and see if that helps. This will give a low frequency response closer to a regular guitar speaker. This kind of rolloff was occurring naturally in your old speaker. If that works, then maybe the monitor EQ can work well enough too, freeing up your effects slot.
    2. If you like the sound other than the flabbiness, you might want to consider putting a back on your cabinet, which could be a simple piece of plywood. If you send me the internal dimensions of your cabinet, I can run it through my speaker sim software and see what that will look like. Generally, closed cabinets provide tight bass without super deep lows, which might be perfect for you.

Keep me posted, it was my idea so I'll help you through this.

See these links:

Woofer

Tweeter

Crossover