Posts by audiomitch

This hasn't been my experience. I have been running a custom built Mac for the last 5 years and my interfaces have always worked after the update. I think the main thing is making sure that whatever device you use has a driver that has been updated for the newer build of Mac OS. This is really only been a problem the last couple of versions. I use a Line 6 interface and they have been pretty good about updates. If your device manufacturer is less than stellar on updates there can be third party drivers that will make it work although for some this is obviously not idea.

I don't want to start a Mac vs PC war, but both platforms have their strength and weakness. But in my experience, the OS update issue on a Mac has been maybe the biggest weakness for DAW users.

I downgraded my i7 Mac Mini server to Mavericks because of all the issues. At some point I won't have a choice and will have to update to whatever is the latest OS. That will be a long day of updating. IMO troubleshooting Windows is a lot easier and intuitive (in a relative way) than a Mac now.

I'm no Windows fanboy, but at least they usually take backward compatibility in to consideration when they come out with a update. Apple just says "it's not our problem".

My first suggestion is to format the USB stick with the Kemper not the Mac. It's a little picky about formatting. I had a similar issue until I reformatted using the Kemper.

As far as the update, I believe you HAVE to upgrade from a USB stick (I may be wrong). That's how I do it anyway, I download the update and put it in the Shared folder on the USB stick. The Kemper finds it automatically and asks if you want to update.

Good luck, you're gonna love this thing!

From what I understand now it's certainly not a must to have the S/PDIF capability, especially for the small scale projects I'm using it for. Even if I could hear the difference (unlikely), it probably becomes indistinguishable in the mix anyway.