Posts by Wheresthedug

I am not an expert on this stuff so hopefully someone more experienced like lightbox or Monkey_Man will chime in with a better answer. In the meantime, here is my best effort.

If you have SPDIF above 0 you are going to get clipping. In the digital world 0db is measured on the dbFS scale which means decibel Full Scale. This is the highest point possible before clipping. If you lower the signal level you create more headroom not less.

I’m not sure what you are hearing as headroom and punch but it is probably some form of distortion although digital clipping from exceeding 0dbFS is not usually considered a pleasant experience in the same way as driving analog gear into distortion is.

With a real tube amp, which has consistent characteristics going out to FOH all night long, you can absolutely be sure that what you’re hearing on stage is **closer** to what the audience is hearing. Not exact of course, but reasonably close.

This is not the case if you are using a Kemper through a traditional guitar cab, but sending studio profiles of different amps, with different cab emulations, out to FOH. It will still sound good to the audience, but it will be much less consistent and you will have less of an idea of what they’re hearing.

And that’s why people use FRFR speakers, to get **closer** to what is happening out front. Unfortunately my experiments with that setup leave me wanting, and I’m unwilling at this point to keep throwing money at the problem.

sorry Cal but your logic is 180 degrees out of phase.

The Kemper approach will be closer and most importantly more consistent, not only throughout the night but also from night to night. Which is why so many major league touring acts are/have switched to digital solutions. They know that onstage sound is important up to a point but it is FOH that generates the revenue