Posts by Wheresthedug

Don’t worry about missing out on anything, Kemper Cabs are basically IRs on steroids. ?

An IR is similar in concept to profiling a speaker and mic only without the amp portion. However, the way a speaker reacts WITH an amp is a two way street due to the impedance curve of the speaker interacting with the amp’s output transformer. A Kemper Studio profile captures all of this whereas an IR only captures the Speaker and Mic without the amp interaction.

What sometimes makes people feel IR are better or more flexible is that some of the IR loaders which are available for use in a DAW or as standalone applications can simulate the effect of not only changing mics and speakers but also moving the mic position. I am not an expert on how this is actually achieved but it appears to be a combination of swapping IRs, and modelling the blend of different IRs to create the impression of actually moving the mic etc.

Cabs are at least as good as IRs (arguably better) but the choice of what works for any one person is just personal taste rather than quality.

the editor doesn’t control the looper. However, you can control it with midi or if it is only for tweaking profiles a simple 2 button footswitch will work instead of the remote.

i don’t run stereo but have often used 2 separate 1x12 in mono rather than a 2x2 because it gives better sound spread on stage and is easier to carry.

If you want to go stereo in a 2x12 consider wiring for stereo/mono use. I did this to a Mesa Recto 212 by replacing t he through jack with a second input. The new input is a stereo plug which acts as switch. One plug in gives both speakers in mono. Plug the second one in and the switch automatically splits the signal to two separate speakers for stereo use. You can find the wiring diagrams easily on the internet.

yes, it is allowed to tag someone from Kemper.